Whiplash is a condition which results from a situation your head and neck are subjected to extreme exterior forces and a sudden change of direction. This condition is dreaded by many as it is very painful. It is one of the most common injuries caused by car accidents, mostly motorists rear-ending another motorist. Whiplash can lead to serious conditions like brain injuries, chronic pain, and neck injuries.
Annually, there are at least 120,000 reported cases of Whiplash. This means that it is a common occurrence with 328 people being affected daily.
The symptoms of Whiplash injury range from, mild to severe with the common ones including:
• Blurry vision
• Neck pain
• Stiff neck
• Back pain
• Limited motion of the neck.
When you are involved in a car accident, there are several important steps you need to follow. These are:
• Seek medical care promptly
• Keep all medical documents and expense records
• Record details about the accident
The above-mentioned steps are very important because they are very crucial in the event you file a claim for Whiplash. When you seek medical attention, a chiropractor will evaluate you and determine if indeed you have a whiplash injury.
You may be entitled to compensation for the damages your car sustains, for lost wages and for your medical bills. You can personally file a whiplash claim but it is important to include the assistance of experienced Khan Law Firm PLLC injury attorneys for expert advice and guidance.
Just like any other claim process, the whiplash injury claim process is very long and complicated.
Statute of limitation
There is a time limit to file your lawsuit in Washington State just any other state. In Washington State, the statute of limitation to file your whiplash injury claim is 3 years from the date of your injury. Failure to file your claim within this time period will have your case dismissed and bar you from recovering any compensation.
Comparative Negligence Rules
Washington State uses “Pure comparative negligence” approach to award you damages. This means that the compensation that you recover will reduce with regard to the percentage of fault which is attributed to you.
The decision on where your case will be heard
In Washington State, you must determine which court will handle your case. If your Whiplash injury amount is less than $5,000, your claim should be filed by a small claim court. If it more then you should file your claim in the district court.
It is important to ensure that your vehicle is covered. The insurance policy for your vehicle should include liability damages as follows:
a. At least $25,000- for injury of death for one person
b. At least$ 50,000-For injury or death to two or more people,
c. $10,000 for damage to property in a single accident.
A whiplash injury claim is a very tricky affair which cannot be tacked single-handedly. You require a professional this knows how to deal with insurance and judges. You should confide in an attorney that can handle for you the legal paperwork, negotiations and settlement, and for advice on every aspect of insurance issues.